Ridge & Valley All-Conference Track and Field Team announced

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/simpleads.helper.inc).
  • Notice: Trying to get property 'settings' of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/simpleads.helper.inc).
  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/simpleads.helper.inc).
  • Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in include() (line 24 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/templates/simpleads_ajax_call.tpl.php).

By Derick Kelly


The Ridge & Valley Conference recently announced their 2024 Boys and Girls Track and Field All-Conference team with Wauzeka-Steuben senior  Lucius Cooley leading the way with four selections.

Cooley earned first team honors for the 110 Meter Hurdles, 300 Meter Hurdles and High Jump events. He was named to the second team for Long Jump.

Joining Cooley on the first team was Hornets sophomore Emma Udelhoven for Pole Vault. Seneca junior Tucker Stluka made the second team for the 300 Meter Hurdles.

Five area boys earned honorable mention - 800 Meter Run - Brett Wagner, Jr., Wauzeka-Steuben, 1600 Meter Run - Gabriel Hamann, Jr., Seneca, 4x400 Meter Relay - Thomas Caya, Jr., Hamann, Tristen Starkey, Sr. and Stluka, Seneca and Discus - Ben Payne, Jr., Seneca.

The Royals Girls 4x100 Meter Relay team of Livian Starkey, Jr., Maya Buffington, Jr., Skylette Gilbertson, Jr. and Rita Sime, Fr. also received honorable mention.

Wauzeka-Steuben freshman Ellah Jones and senior Paul Krachey were both named to the Sportsmanship Team.

Cooley was also named the  Ridge & Valley Conference Runner/Field Athlete of the Year while Hornets co-head coaches Austin Bunders and Shannon Sorbo were honored as the  league’s Co-Coaches of the Year.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet