Clayton County voters weigh in on midterms

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to get property 'settings' of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/
  • Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in include() (line 24 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/templates/simpleads_ajax_call.tpl.php).

By Shelia Tomkins

Clayton County voters turned out for midterm elections on Tuesday, Nov. 8, to choose candidates for county, state and federal offices. The following results are unofficial; winners will be declared following the official canvass of votes by the Clayton County Board of Supervisors. 

Clayton County

At the county level, four candidates sought two seats on the Board of Supervisors. Winners were Republicans Doug Reimer with 5,062 votes and Steve Doeppke with 4,578, both Republicans. Democrat Phil Specht tallied 1,953 votes and Lester Simons 1,676.

Republican incumbent Linda Zuercher was the lone candidate for County Treasurer and garnered 6,545 votes.

For the office of County Recorder, incumbent Sue E. Meyer, a Republican,  defeated Democratic challenger Donna Kann by a margin of 5,536 to 1,674 votes. County Attorney Zach Herrmann, who ran unopposed for re-election, received 6,334 votes.

Mark Glawe and Travis Anderson were elected to the Soil and Water Conservation District Commission.

Elected to the Clayton County Agricultural Extension Council were Cindy Schoulte Petsche, Amanda Meyer, Katherine Ruff, Trent Henkes and Blair Lincoln. 

Township elections

Voters in rural areas chose township trustees and clerks, and also approved a measure that would allow the Board of Supervisors to appoint township officers rather than by voter choice.

Township candidates whose names appeared on the ballot) elected in The Press readership were as follows. Other vacancies will be filled by write-in votes.

Trustees: Buena Vista: Brian Noethe; Clayton, Roger Fischer; Garnavillo, Ronald Kaiser; Jefferson, Robert D. Hinzman and Randy L. Keehner; Mallory, Walter Wessel; Millville, Jessica Hiller and David E. Anderegg.

Clerks: Buena Vista, Ronald Ploessl; Garnavillo, Jason Johnson; Jefferson, Kristina Johnson; Mallory, Douglas Brown; Millville, Lisa Kies.

State offices

Republican incumbent Anne Osmundson defeated Democrat Brian Bruening for State Representative from District 64. In Clayton County, her margin was 5,005 to 2, 271.

Clayton County voters chose Republican candidates, often by wide margins, in the state races for major offices.  Incumbent Governor Kim Reynolds was re-elected, while other state winners included Secretary of State, Paul Pate; Treasurer of State, Roby Smith; Secretary of Agriculture, Mike Naig and Attorney General Brenna Bird. The race for Auditor of State between incumbent Rob Sand and challenger Todd Halbur was too close to call last week.  

Federal offices

Clayton County voters followed state voting trends in the re-election of Senator Charles Grassley, as well as in the re-election of Ashley Hinson as U.S. Representative from District 2.

Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate announced that the unofficial turnout was the second highest in state history for a midterm election.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet