Bulldogs pick up slew of all-district honors

Error message

  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 133 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/simpleads.helper.inc).
  • Notice: Trying to get property 'settings' of non-object in _simpleads_adgroup_settings() (line 343 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/simpleads.helper.inc).
  • Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in _simpleads_render_ajax_template() (line 157 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/includes/simpleads.helper.inc).
  • Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in include() (line 24 of /home/pdccourier/www/www/sites/all/modules/simpleads/templates/simpleads_ajax_call.tpl.php).

Bulldogs who earned all-district honors this season included head coach Dan Anderson as well as players Spencer Larson (left to right), Jacob Trudo, Jackson Landt, Cayden Ball, Tyler Wille, Cedrick Drahn, Eli Johnson, Cullen McShane, Gavin Hertrampf, Karter Decker, Zach Howe, Ethan Stubbs, Max Havlicek and JT Stocker. Not pictured are Kutter Anderson and Gabe McGeough.(Photo by Audrey Posten)

MFL MarMac was well represented on this year’s Class A District 5 all-district football teams. Dan Anderson was named coach of the year, and 16 players were recognized for their efforts.

Four Bulldogs were first team offense selections, including senior lineman Eli Johnson, who was deemed offensive MVP. The line was one of the team’s strongest suits this season, paving the way for the fifth ranked total offense in Class A. Also receiving honors were senior quarterback Cedrick Drahn, senior running back Kutter Anderson and senior kicker Jackson Landt.

Drahn completed 86 of 139 passing attempts this season, for a 61.9 percent completion percentage. He threw for 1,226 yards and 13 touchdowns, en route to becoming MFL MarMac’s career passing leader, and also ran in seven touchdowns himself. Anderson led the team’s rushing attack, racking up 1,241 yards and 15 touchdowns on 154 carries. He also became the first 1,000-yard rusher in school history. Landt was also a reliable feature of the Bulldog offense, making one of two field goals this year as well as 21 of 33 point after attempts.

On the defensive side, seniors Zach Howe and Spencer Larson were recognized for their work on the line, while senior JT Stocker was honored as a linebacker, senior Ethan Stubbs as a defensive back and junior Cayden Ball as a defensive back.

Stocker was MFL MarMac’s leading tackler, with 66, including 10 solo efforts for a loss. He also picked up three sacks. Howe accumulated 49.5 total tackles on the season and led the team with 12 solo tackles for a loss. He had a team-leading five solo sacks and assisted on three others, in addition to snagging an interception. Larson’s stat line included 38.5 total tackles and a sack. Stubbs and Ball accounted for many of the opposing teams’ turnovers: Stubbs secured seven interceptions and recovered two fumbles, along with earning 57 total tackles, while Ball tallied five interceptions and 36 tackles.

Earning spots on the second team offense were junior receiver Max Havlicek and sophomore running back Gabe McGeough. Landt, senior Gavin Hertrampf and junior Jacob Trudo were cited for their role on the line.

Havlicek was MFL MarMac’s top threat in the air, earning 363 yards and six touchdowns on 22 receptions. McGeough was second on the team in rushing, carrying the ball 111 times for 638 yards and eight touchdowns.

The team’s lone member on the second team defense was sophomore Cullen McShane. The linebacker accumulated 61 total tackles, 10 of them solo tackles for a loss. He also had four solo sacks.

Two more Bulldogs, freshman Karter Decker and junior Tyler Wille, received honorable mention status. Wille was a contributor on the offensive and defensive lines, and Decker was one of the team’s top tacklers, with 23.5 total.

Anderson’s coach of the year honors were well deserved. He led the Bulldogs to a 10-1 overall record, including 5-0 in the district, which was the most wins in school history. MFL MarMac also had its first winning season since 1992 and earned the program’s first district title and first playoff victory.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet