Obituaries

Wed
12
Mar

Betty J. Garaghty

Betty Jane Garaghty, 83, of Elkader, died Tuesday, March 4, 2014, at University Hospitals and Clinics in Iowa City.

Visitation was before services at the church.

Funeral services were Monday, March 10, at St. Joseph Catholic Church in Elkader, conducted by Rev. Paul R. Peters.

Burial was in the church cemetery.

Leonard Funeral Home in Elkader was in charge of arrangements. 

Wed
12
Mar

James C. Bries

James C. Bries, 78, of Dyersville, and formerly of Luxemburg, passed into eternal life on Sunday, March 2, 2014, at Mercy Medical Center in Dubuque.

Visitation was Wednesday, March 5, at Kramer Funeral Home, Dyersville.

Funeral services were Thursday, March 6, at St. Francis Xavier Basilica in Dyersville, conducted by Rev. Phil Kruse and Rev. John Ptacek.

Burial was in Holy Trinity Cemetery, Luxemburg.  

Wed
26
Feb

Joyce M. Tucker

Joyce M. Tucker, 51, of 39574 Great River Road, Holy Cross, and formerly of Worthington, died Monday afternoon, Feb. 17, 2014, at Guttenberg Municipal Hospital in Guttenberg following a sudden illness.

Visitation was Friday, Feb. 21, at Reiff Funeral Home in Dyersville.

Wed
19
Feb

Arleta L. Hardt

Arleta L. Hardt, 83, of Clinton, died Friday, Feb. 14, 2014, at Mercy Living Center North.

Visitation was before services at the church.

Funeral services were Tuesday, Feb. 18, at St. Paul Lutheran Church, Clinton.

Burial was at Linwood Cemetery in Dubuque. Pallbearers were Zack Wagner, Ryan Chapman, Mike McManus, Alan Kimmer, Andrew Raab and Ethan Chapman. Honorary pallbearers were Dallas McManus and Michael Kimmer.

Wed
19
Feb

John W. Moreland

John W. Moreland Sr., 89, died peacefully Monday, Feb. 3, 2013, at his home.

Visitation was Thursday, Feb. 6, at Lensing Funeral and Cremation Service.

Funeral services were Friday, Feb. 7, at St. Wenceslaus Catholic Church, Iowa City, conducted by Father Gary Beckman.

Burial was at St. Joseph Cemetery, Iowa City.

Wed
05
Feb

Meralda A. "Babe" Hansel

Meralda A. “Babe” Hansel, 86, of Elkader, died Jan. 28, 2014, at University Hospitals in Iowa City. 

Visitation was Friday, Jan. 31, at Leonard Funeral Home in Elkader and before services at the church.

Funeral services were Saturday, Feb. 1, at St. Joseph Catholic Church in Elkader.

Burial was at the church cemetery. Casketbearers were Jeff Burrows, Cory Rood, Kylie Vorwald, Jerry Olinger, Tanor Vorwald and Bill Jackson.

Wed
05
Feb

Richard L. Pritchard

Richard LeRoy Pritchard, 77, died Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2014, at the Guttenberg Municipal Hospital after fighting a courageous battle with cancer.

Visitation was Sunday, Feb. 2, at Leonard Funeral Home in Elkader and before services at the church.

Funeral services were Monday, Feb. 3, at St. John Congregational Church in Garber.

Tue
28
Jan

Jane A. Hefel

Jane Ann Hefel, 65, of Guttenberg, passed away at 9:06 a.m., Monday, Jan. 6, 2014, at the Guttenberg Hospital of natural causes.

Visitation was Thursday, Jan. 9, at Behr Funeral Home, Dubuque, and before services at the Immaculate Conception Church Hall in North Buena Vista.

Funeral services were Friday, Jan. 10, at Immaculate Conception Church in North Buena Vista, conducted by Rev. Marvin J. Bries.

Burial was in Immaculate Conception Cemetery.

Tue
28
Jan

Bennett J. Habel

Bennett J. Habel, 88, of Holy Cross, died Monday, Jan. 20, 2014, at his home, of natural causes, surrounded by his family.

Visitation was Thursday, Jan. 23, at Kramer Funeral Home in Holy Cross.

Funeral services were Thursday, Jan. 23, at Immaculate Conception Catholic Church, North Buena Vista, conducted by Rev. Marvin Bries.

Burial was in the church cemetery.

Wed
22
Jan

Ione O. Reinitz

Ione Opal (Meyer) Reinitz passed away Friday, Jan. 10, 2014, at the Guttenberg Care Center.

Visitation was Monday, Jan. 13, at Tuecke-Allyn Funeral Home and Cremation Service, Guttenberg, and one hour before service at church.

Funeral services were Tuesday, Jan. 14, at St. John's Lutheran Church, Guttenberg, conducted by Rev. Shane Anderson.

Interment was at Guttenberg City Cemetery.

Pages

Subscribe to Obituaries