Awards presented at Guttenberg Fire Dept. banquet

Service awards went to, front from left, Dave Tschantz - 30 years, and Denny Roth - 40 years, Jeff Troester - 20 years; back, Larry Goedken - five years, Josh Roth - 10 years, Austin Greve - 10 years. Not pictured are Tim Kuempel - five years and Jen Radl - 10 years. (Austin Greve photo)

The Guttenberg Fire Department helds its annual awards and appreciation dinner on Saturday evening, Feb. 22, at the Stadium Bar and Grill in Guttenberg. Following a social hour, dinner was served to approximately 50 firefighters, retired members, spouses, guests and friends.

Special guest was Alan Esch, President of the Iowa Firefighters Association. 

A program and awards presentation followed the dinner. Fire Chief Chad Esmann thanked the volunteers for their service during the past year and gave a brief summary of yearly activities. The following awards were presented:

Firefighter of the Year: Jarad Esmann.

Stuart Wardenburg Training Award: Fred Schaub was the recipient of this award that is presented to a volunteer who has "demonstrated a significant dedication and participation in the area of training throughout the year."

Training Award: Award for attending all mandatory training events this past year went to Austin Greve.

Five-Year Service Award: Awards for five years of service went to Larry Goedken and Tim Kuempel.

10-Year Service Award: Awards for 10 years of service went to Austin Greve, Josh Roth and Jen Radl.

20-Year Service Award: A 20-year service award was presented to Jeff Troester. 

30-Year Service Award: An award for 30 years of service went to Dave Tschantz.

40-Year Service Award: An award for 40 years of service went to Denny Roth.

Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)
Comment Here