City officials begin a new year

Guttenberg city officials who were elected in the November municipal elections took the oath of office in a ceremony held Dec. 30 at the Guttenberg Municipal Building. From left are Sue Osterhaus and Doug Reimer, hospital board; City Manager Mary Willett and Mayor Russ Loven; back, Steve Friedlein, Dave Schlueter and Fred Schaub, city council; front, Helene Kuempel and right, Austin Greve, park board. (Press photo by Shelia Tomkins)


By Shelia Tomkins

The year 2014 will see some new faces in Guttenberg city government when officials elected in November begin their terms. In a ceremony held Monday, Dec. 30, at the municipal building, Mayor Russ Loven thanked outgoing board members for their service, welcomed new members and administered the oath of office for members of the city council, park board and hospital board. 

Incumbent Mayor Russ Loven, who began a four-year term effective Jan. 1, was administered the oath of office by Assistant City Manager Julie Zittergruen. Mayor Loven then in turn swore in the new city manager, Mary Willett.

Three council members took the oath of office — Fred Schaub and incumbents Steve Friedlein and Dave Schlueter. Outgoing councilman Ralph Livingston was unable to be present, but received recognition from the Mayor, who expressed appreciation for his service.

The park board saw two new members, elected by write-in vote, sworn in: Austin Greve and Helene Kuempel. Outgoing park board member Joanne Finch received a certificate of appreciation for her eight years on the board.  Unable to be present was outgoing park board member, Rev. Shane Anderson, who was recognized for his service.

Hospital board members who took the oath of office were Sue Osterhaus and incumbent Doug Reimer. Susan Clayton, who was unable to be present, was recognized for her service on the hospital board.

Approximately two dozen people attended the event.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here